The History of America's Premier Motorcycle Race
Year Published: 1991
Author: Don Emde

– Four racers have won the Daytona 200 three times. Kenny Roberts is one of them. Can you name the other three?

– What brand of motorcycle has won the most Daytona 200’s?

– Can you name the motorcycle racers who have won the Daytona 200 on their first attempt?

– What was the first foreign-made motorcycle brand to win the Daytona 200?

 Find the answers to these questions and many more in The Daytona 200. The History of America’ s Premier Motorcycle Race. This two-part book provides an indepth history of the race that goes beyond just the pure facts and figures. The author has traveled the country and interviewed many former winners ranging from Ed Kretz and Dick Klamfoth to Wayne Rainey and Kevin Schwantz.

In Part One, the reader goes on a decade-by-decade trip though time, starting back before the first running of the 200-mile race in 1937 right up to 1990. In a combined format of words and pictures, author Don Emde, himself a former Daytona 200 winner, shows you how the event has evolved from the days of racing on the sands of Daytona Beach to the Daytona International Speedway.

The history of this great race is brought alive with over 300 photographs, diagrams and ads from days gone by!

Part Two contains the most complete statistics section ever on the Daytona 200. In addition to the key facts and figures is a list of every rider that has ever competed in the Daytona 200-mile race. Listed are the years that these riders competed, with their finishing positions and miles run.


The author, Don Emde and his father Floyd hold the distinction of being the only father-son combination to have won the Daytona 200. Floyd won the race on an Indian when it was run on the beach in 1948. Don won it himself in 1972 riding a 350cc Yamaha, the smallest machine to ever win the Daytona 200.

Year - slider